History - Brown Bag Concert (1991)
August 9, 1991 - American Towers - Red Lion Plaza, Salt Lake City, Utah

History | History Text | History Posters | 1991 | Brown Bag Concert
Cow Chronicles (1991)

Guest Choreographer: Karen Frank-Ramos
Music: Phillip K. Bimstein
Videography: Jim Rose
Costumes: Karen Frank-Ramos, Eleni Kambouris
Dancers: Chara Huckins, Sarah Hudelson, Eleni Kambouris, Michael Larkin, Elizabeth A. Miklavcic, Jimmy H. Miklavcic
Location: American Towers - Red Lion Plaza, Salt Lake City, Utah
Length: 13:16 minutes

Guest choreographer Karen Frank-Ramos used the music composed by Utah composer Phillip K. Bimstein as inspiration for Cow Chronicles. Phillip originally composed the music, Garland Hershey's Cows, for Another Language's Sounds That Art Makes in 1990. The work depicts a farming family's life in the heartland.

There are three sections in the work. The first section introduces the family. Beth and Jimmy, the heads of the household, work the farm with a son (Michael Larkin) and three daughters (Sarah Hudelson, Eleni Kambouris, Chara Huckins). The children move off in the second section, to bring focus to the farming couple as they discuss their day's work and plans for the future. The children return and join the parents in the third section. The father and son go off to work the fields as the rest of the family go about their daily chores. The dance closes as the family heads back to the farm house to finish the day and rest for the beginning of a new day.

Another Language performed this work for the Salt Lake City Arts Councils's Brown Bag Concert Series.